Canada the Beautiful

Fellow blogger David Folstad recently started a new series on his blog called O Canada. Needless to say, I can’t think of a better theme, so, in the spirit of David’s new Canada series, when the following pictorial tour of Canada came my way the other day in an email chain, I knew it was something I wanted to share. I don’t know who started this off, but whoever it was, thank you so much. (Thanks to Ernie for forwarding it to Bill and to Bill for including me on his email list!)

Here goes.

Our country is the world’s second largest in size. It’s incredibly diverse and often looks nothing like people imagine it. Let’s get a taste of how diverse Canada is in terms of architecture and landscapes. I hope you enjoy the tour.

This isn’t Greenland. It’s Canada. (Baffin Island, Nunavut)

This isn’t New York. It’s Canada. (Toronto)

This isn’t Croatia. It’s Canada. (near Tobermory, Ontario)

This isn’t Paris. It’s Canada. (Montréal)

This isn’t Morocco. It’s Canada. (Athabasca Sand Hills, Saskatchewan)

This isn’t London. It’s Canada. (Ottawa)

This isn’t Japan. It’s Canada. (Montréal)

This isn’t India. It’s Canada. (Toronto)

This isn’t Australia. It’s Canada. (Cheltenham Badlands, Ontario)

This isn’t Austria. It’s Canada. (Whistler, British Columbia)

This isn’t Cornwall. It’s Canada. (Prince Edward Island)

This isn’t the Netherlands. It’s Canada. (Ottawa)

This isn’t New Zealand. It’s Canada. (Chesterman Beach, British Columbia)

This isn’t Scotland. It’s Canada. (Hatley Castle, Vancouver Island)

This isn’t Finland. It’s Canada. (Canadian Shield)

This isn’t Normandy. It’s Canada. (Québec)

This isn’t Arizona. It’s Canada. (Big Muddy Valley, Saskatchewan)

This isn’t Italy. It’s Canada. (Niagara Wine Country, Ontario)

This isn’t Sydney. It’s Canada. (Vancouver)

This isn’t Ukraine. It’s Canada. (Saskatchewan)

This isn’t Rome. It’s Canada. (Montréal)

This isn’t Sweden. It’s Canada. (Peggy’s Cove, Nova Scotia)

This isn’t France. It’s Canada. (Mont Tremblant, Québec)

This isn’t Europe. It’s Canada. (Québec)

This isn’t Northern Italy. It’s Canada. (Okanagan, British Columbia)

This isn’t Bergen. It’s Canada. (St. John’s, Newfoundland)

This isn’t New England. It’s Canada. (Lake Simcoe, Ontario)

This isn’t Florida. It’s Canada. (Parlee Beach, New Brunswick)

This isn’t Norway. It’s Canada. (Newfoundland)

This isn’t France. It’s Canada. (Montréal)

This isn’t Estonia. It’s Canada. (Sandbanks, Prince Edward County, Ontario)

This isn’t the Faroe Islands. It’s Canada. (Lunenburg, Nova Scotia)

This isn’t Switzerland. It’s Canada. (Banff, Alberta)

This isn’t Art Deco along the English coast. It’s Canada. (Toronto)

This isn’t Seattle. It’s Canada. (Victoria, British Columbia)

This isn’t Ireland. It’s Canada. (Toronto)

This isn’t Zaragoza. It’s Canada. (Montréal)

This isn’t Valencia. It’s Canada. (Toronto)

This isn’t China. It’s Canada. (Montréal)

This isn’t Belgium. It’s Canada. (Toronto)

Once again, many thanks to whoever intially put this picture tour together.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Canada the Beautiful

  1. Ab says:

    These are beautiful photos, Jane, and a great reminder of the diversity of sights that Canada has to offer.

    I was happy to finally visit Tobermory two years ago and it was as beautiful as the photos have portrayed. Look forward to visiting Newfoundland one day and to exploring more of the West this summer.

    Saskatchewan looks very intriguing too. Hope to explore the flatter part of Canada one day!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Gosh, Ab, you have some great travel plans. Re Nfld, I’ve been to St. John’s, which is as scenic as the pic shows, but I’ve never been to Gros Morin, which apparently is simply spectacular. And it’s not far from the ancient Viking settlement that’s still intact.

      Like

    • Bernie says:

      Ab, you will be surprised when you visit Saskatchewan to find it not all flat. There is a part called the Regina Plains that is flat but go south to Grasslands National Park or Cypress Hills Provincal Park or go north to one of the thousands of lakes.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Wynne Leon says:

      I was thinking of you, Ab, when I saw the Tobermory picture. So beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Victoria says:

    Wow! Thank you, Jane for the travel treat…right from my seat! I can’t wait to share with hubby, Paul. Travel inspiration in every image. 🥰❤️🥰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Deb says:

    What a spectacular way to learn about Canada! I forget all the time that I have the opportunity for international travel just to my north.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. swabby429 says:

    I’ve been to most of the Provinces, but certainly not in depth. This looks like an amazing series coming up.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Darlene says:

    These photos are fabulous and show what a diverse and picturesque country Canada is. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bernie says:

    What a fabulous photographic display of Canada. I wish the photographers had been credited, but I love how it highlighted all the regions. Thanks for sharing. Now, we need to start planning next year’s trip to New Brunswick so we can then say we’ve been to every province.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Thanks, Bernie. That’s exactly what I wish, that both the person who originally put these photos and captions together and the photographers could be credited. You have a lot of trips in the planning phase, a cycling trip in France and a trip to NB?! There’s lots to see and do in NB, especially if you get the weather, including whale watching from St Andrew’s.

      Like

  7. Ally Bean says:

    This is wonderful. I like how you’ve prefaced each photo, then clarified. The one about Florida amazes me. I don’t envision Canada like that, but clearly it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane Fritz says:

      I’m glad you liked the tour, Ally. I can’t take credit for the captions; the wording and the pics were all part of what’s been circulating through email chains. It’s just too bad I couldn’t find who to give credit for it. Oh, yes, our beaches are glorious; it’s just that beach weather is typically mid-June through mid-Sept, not year round.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Wynne Leon says:

    Wow – what a beautiful and effective tour. The Taj Mahal-ish photo is spectacular and new to me! Thanks, Jane!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. heimdalco says:

    AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL photos. I enjoyed them so much. Thanks for sharing. (Looking at these has been a delightful break from trump & trials – several a day – & politics … & trump)

    Glad to be back after the anniversary party & doing 2 newsletters.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Happy to provide you with some moments of visual joy, Linda. I’m actually quite enjoying reading frequent updates on the Trump hush money trial, I have to admit!! 😋

      Liked by 1 person

      • heimdalco says:

        The Hush Money trial has produced some really clever memes (will send you a few). But today it was THAT trial on-going AND the first of the Supreme Court trial regarding trump’s claim of “total immunity,” which I found frustrating & tedious – probably because the answer seems so simple to me. Perhaps they are just being thorough.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Convincing tour. I think I need to get my passport ready. Beautiful shots.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. These are gorgeous! I want to see it all!

    I came here via my friend David! 🙂

    Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Rose says:

    Thanks for the preview, Jane. We’re taking a driving tour of your lovely country next month. I’m excited to see what I can see. We’re going west, to Banff.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Diverse Photos of Canada – See for yourself! | Life and Random Thinking

  14. Edward Ortiz says:

    Beautiful photos, Jane. I love Canada and it’s beautiful. We visited Kingston, Ottawa, and Montreal before COVID and we had a great time. We are planning to go back later this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I thoroughly enjoyed this pictorial tour. There is so much to explore. We’re heading to Vancouver in May to celebrate Mike’s birthday. I’ve been to Victoria, Edmonton, Toronto, the Columbia ice fields, and attended a wedding in Mississauga.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. debscarey says:

    Wow! Oh all the countries I’ve not visited, Canada is one which still tempts me. That said, it tempts as a place to move to – except that my daughter gave me “that look” to remind me of her feeling about flying. So, I’m still here. I may just forward this post to her to see if it tempts her and her husband to consider Canada themselves!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Eilene Lyon says:

    Seems I have a lot of Canada yet to see! It’s definitely on my list of places to go.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. The comparisons of our beautiful architecture and natural scenes with other cities and countries around the world is remarkable. It proves just how diverse Canada truly is.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Margaret says:

    Beautifully diverse Jane.
    After looking at all the pictures I immediately want to peruse again. I visited Vancouver, Vancouver Island, Montreal and Toronto long ago in 1989. Always regret missing out on Lake Louise and Banff area amongst others. I always remember being gobsmacked when observing, whilst in Vancouver, the traffic taking turns stopping at t-junctions without anyone or anything ordering them to do so 😄
    Such a polite country.
    Is it still?

    Liked by 1 person

  20. gwenthinks says:

    Well I am intrigued. Might have to explore some of these wonderful places!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Roy McCarthy says:

    That’s a brilliant compilation Jane. Some amazing pics in there which fully achieve the objective of showing off your country’s diversity. I particularly love the Normandy town square in Québec. But what’s happened to the Mounties? That was the stereotype in our 1960’s schoolbooks along with cheery Eskimos fishing through the ice and Welsh ladies in stove hats.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Those are Mounties in their red coats and big black hats in front of Parliament in the Ottawa pic. I admit to have been disappointed that there were no pictures in the North, but then again, those would be distinctly Canadian and the curator had chosen pics that resembled other places.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.