Map Monday: A look at Europe in maps (including the UK, sorry Brexiters)

Here’s a small collection of maps that describe various interesting aspects of Europe – a few serious, a few very much not serious. 🙂

In case you’re thinking of taking a cycling trip in Europe.In case you’re wondering where to eat in different countries. In case you’re wondering whether to bring your hearing aids with you.

And now, a little more serious.

And, finally, what Europeans think of their own countries. Kind of interesting, don’t you think?!

 

This entry was posted in Map Monday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Map Monday: A look at Europe in maps (including the UK, sorry Brexiters)

  1. Wow, some amazing stats there, thanks for compiling and sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Deb says:

    I find that last one the most surprising Jane! I would not have chosen Greece in general to take a superior attitude. I’d love to see the why’s behind that %

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Edward Ortiz says:

    Jane, I really like when you post your maps with stats. So much good information. Spain and all the Spanish speaking countries, loud… never… 🤣

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Victoria says:

    I love all of these, Jane, and I’ll need to pass the last image to my dear friend Jen whose family is Greek and proud, proud, proud! I can almost hear her quibbling…or her father, grandfather…over the 89% (only 89%??) superiority rating! 🥰

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Eilene Lyon says:

    I love the maps. The first really caught my interest. We’ve done five bike tours in Europe and will be doing another this September. It’s a great way to get a feel for a country.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Oh, I’m glad you like them, Eilene. And all those bike trips sound wonderful. We’ve done lots of travel, but we never tried a bike tour. The map does a good job of showing how many options there are in Europe!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ab says:

    The loudest map one made me laugh. Definitely good info to know about geography’

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Rose says:

    I think I was most surprised by the number of “Roughly every 6 days in the world, a country celebrates its independence from Britain.” That’s a lot of “independence”.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Yes, it’s a reminder of just how vast the British Empire was at its height. And there are still a few countries that have yet to declare their independence. It’s also a reminder of how empires – however they’re defined – don’t last forever!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. debscarey says:

    I found the last two the most interesting. The British empire has taken a LOT of dismantling, and I’m frankly surprised by those who have yet to fully chuck us out – long overdue.

    I was sad to see that Spain has so little belief in their cultural worth. My grandparents retired to live there, I used to speak the language, it’s so rich in culture and tradition. Not to mention that I’d happily retire there myself, but for Brexit.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jane Fritz says:

      I won’t disagree with you about even more Independence Day being on the horizon, or the navel-gazing misadventure of Brexit. I was similarly surprised, even astounded, at Spain’s low self-esteem wrt their culture and history. They clearly love their cuisine, and they’re “loud”! What’s not to be proud of?!

      Liked by 2 people

  9. dfolstad58 says:

    Those maps I didn’t expect and they were fun to study. Surprised by some of the results and it made me wonder which country has the most Nobel prizes?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Klausbernd says:

    Dear Jane
    Thanks for all these thematic maps.
    We collect such maps as well. But, of course, one has take them cum grano salis. It would be important to know how and where the mapmakers got their information.
    The Fab Four of Cley
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Thanks for commenting, Fab Four. Yes, there is no doubt that you can find maps (and all kinds of survey data) that provide somewhat conflicting messages, especially when based on subjective questions. But sites like Bored Panda and Amazing Maps usually do their best to vet the maps they present. For any subjective questions, it’s always best to take the results with a grain of salt!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Fabulous post with surprises (Greece?) and confirmations (local food). For some reason, I am giggling at “Cycle Paths of Europe” sounding like “Psychopaths of Europe.” Perhaps a dating-related map? 🤔😁

    Liked by 1 person

  12. That was fun! At least I know where to go if I need quiet. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Bernie says:

    Well how perfect seems I am planning a cycling trip to Europe! France to be specific and I will be sure to eat local and allow the locals to feel like their country is the best!

    Like

  14. Roy McCarthy says:

    So many questions. How is ‘loudness per country’ measured? Spain has vast, empty spaces – but maybe the Brits on holiday bump the levels up.

    Seems like there’s some correlation between Nobel prize winners and colonies conquered 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane Fritz says:

      LOL. I know, the loudness one really amused me. Re the Nobel Prizes, let’s hope not. I’d prefer to think it has more to do with the quality of their universities and the students they attract. It also could be somewhat related to their relative populations. Hmm.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.