Sharing Wordle scores is a great way to nurture our human connections – really!

Well, at least it is for our family. I admit I expended a not insignificant amount of brain power earlier today trying to come up with a Wordle equivalent of “The family that prays together, stays together”, but I just couldn’t make a word that rhymes with Wordle work. A family that Wordles together, hurdles/girdles/turtles/encircles together? I gave up trying … for now!

Our immediate family members (parents and 2 grown sons living elsewhere, with busy families and busy lives) have been sharing our Wordle scores by text every morning for a considerable amount of time now, and I have to say that it really does feel like we’re doing it together. It’s a really, really nice way to start the day, to hear the ping of the text coming in from each son – and my husband in another room, each announcing his Wordle success … or semi-success. We even occasionally share some other news besides our scores, but you wouldn’t want too much communication first thing in the morning, now, would you?! At any rate, I highly recommend giving this easy way of interacting with others in your family or friend-family a try. Here’s an example of how very quick our exchanges are, but they provide a surprisingly strong feeling of connectedness. ❤

What made me think of this topic was the first story in the New York Times ‘This Morning’ email that comes to subscribers. The lead for their morning email was: Good morning. We’re covering lessons from the past year of Wordle — as well as Israeli hostages, Donald Trump and “Sailor Moon.” If putting Wordle ahead of the Israeli hostages and Trump doesn’t put things in perspective, I don’t know what does! Wow!! Once you get past the prioritizing of their news items, the lessons from their Wordle study are quite interesting … if you’re into Wordle. And, of course, if you’re not, you should be! To clarify, millions upon millions of people play Wordle every day.  Someone with time on their hands was tasked with analyzing the success rate of – get this – half a billion Wordle games, in fact, 515,000,000 Wordle games from this past year, and compare their results to Wordle’s bot expert – Wordlebot. The full story, by Josh Katz and Aatish Bhatia, can be found at the New York Times story:  Wordlebot year in review. Here are the lessons that emerged:

Lesson #1: Of the top 30 starting words, ADIEU is the most popular but least efficient. I love this one. Everyone who plays Wordle has a theory on what the first starting word show be, and ADIEU is certainly mentioned often with reverence. Sorry, folks! Here’s a chart of some of the most popular starting words and how successful they are and aren’t, according to this Times study.

Lesson #2: People like holiday words for starting words, like PARTY, HEART, BUNNY, and GHOST. For example, on Christmas day, MERRY, GIFTS, and PEACE were very popular this past year. At Thanksgiving, THANKS and GRAVY were popular starting words. I don’t think it helped them, but they were having fun … or they were desperate!

Lesson #3: More people solve Wordle on their first guess than can be explained by chance. I’ve clearly missed out on that phenomenon. I did get it in one try once, but that’s because my first word is always PARTY, and the word that day was PARTY. Once I got it in 2 because the second word I always use, NOISE, was the word of the day. For some reason, when there’s no guessing involved (with serious mental strategy involved, of course!) it’s not as satisfying.

Lesson #4: SLATE is on the rise as a starting word, while CRANE has fallen in popularity.

Lesson #5: The most difficult words to guess often start with J and/or end with Y. Words with double letters in them are also more of a struggle than others. The section below from the article shows the 5 words this past year that gave people the most trouble. I remember how challenging I found  JAZZY and NANNY very well indeed, although not as challenging as SASSY. Their guess rates in the high 5s are telling, given that you only get 6 guesses to find the solution. Yikes!

Lesson #6: The words that most surprised the bot included ANODE and MATEY.

Lesson #7: The bot (Wordlebot) is learning from your guesses. This is really worth analyzing regularly. Bots do what we used to call machine learning and is now called AI (artificial intelligence). The Wordlebot doesn’t do anything to change what you do, but it does provide you with its analysis of how well you’re doing at choosing your starting words, if you care to look. And if the bot’s learning from our guesses then it should be able to provide increasingly useful feedback. I have to admit that our son who seems to get the word in 2 guesses most frequently is the one who looks at what Wordlebot has to say. Go figure! At any rate, the discussion at the end of the full article does a good job of explaining how the bot (program) uses statistics to make predictions, if you’re into that kind of thing.

My main message is that if you like play Wordle on your own, it can even more fun if you share your efforts with a few equally keen family members and/or friends. Really!!

This entry was posted in Life stories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Sharing Wordle scores is a great way to nurture our human connections – really!

  1. I was a holdout at the beginning but then became intrigued/hooked and now definitely a devotee. We have a small contingent of family/friends that share but always try to be the first and provide a vague clue that sometimes helps but often confuses, especially from one friend!
    It is a welcome day to start the day and fire up the brain.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. During a visit with a PA at a drop-in clinic, she saw that I was amusing myself with Wordle I while waited. She had a quick look, and after a quick visit, she said, “Okay—let’s get back to your Wordle and see if we can figure it out!” I always start with shade, then go to point, then curvy. Thanks for sharing the info about it. Now if I could just figure out what all of those points, prizes and offers are, I’d leap the Wordle hurdle (!) Guess I just don’t care enough to know, but I love the game!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kevin says:

    Wordle is part of our morning routine with family not living with us. It definitely lets us know my Mom is up and about.
    Oh by the way, don’t tell them my starting word is ALINE.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Terrific. So you follow the same model of connectedness through Wordle! My Kevin lives in your neck of the woods; he can tell that his Mom’s awake and has completed the daily Wordle, but he can’t actually tell if I’m up and about! 😏 Don’t worry, your starting word is safe with me. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Victoria says:

    Love this, Jane! Thanks for the encouragement to get back to Wordle. 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes! My friend started me on Wordle, Worldle (geography), and Nerdle (math) last December when she and her husband visited me in Portugal soon after I’d moved. I still don’t subscribe to NYT Games, but Spelling Bee and Connections are part of the daily routine too. Sharing screenshots/scores has become a fun way to stay in touch with folks abroad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane Fritz says:

      I’m glad you also enjoy the sharing part. My husband and I both do Waffle and Nerdle every night. Nerdle has a little bit more logical thinking going for it than Wordle; I like that part. I gave up on Worldle after awhile, but while I was still doing it a friend pointed out that when the country had straight-line borders it was invariably an African country. The European colonizers just arbitrarily drew borders that subsequently defined countries, regardless of whether they made cultural or historical sense. 😥

      Like

  6. I usually start with sauce, but I was late to the game and read your post first, so I tried audio. And I got the word on six. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I admit I’ve never taken the time to learn Wordle. Maybe in 2024?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane Fritz says:

      You wouldn’t find much of a learning curve, for sure. To play the game, it usually only takes 1-5 minutes to play! If you’re ever bored (probably never!) or looking for an excuse to procrastinate, give it a try. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Roy McCarthy says:

    Oh Jane I confess I know not what Wordle is (some word game thingy) and care even less. But if it brings positivity to a certain cohort then I’m all in favour. What I get enraged over is people putting their results (or score or whatever) up on Twitter or somewhere every morning. I have to continuously fight the urge to type I DON’T CARE!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lynn Hruczkowski says:

    Great article, Jane! I’m in Edmonton, my sister is in Florida and my brother is in Halifax and we share our Wordle responses every morning – it’s the best part of Wordle!! We stay connected and chat daily now about what’s happening in our worlds … this game has been a gift to our family!
    Wishing you and Howie all the best! Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Hi Lynn. Great to “see” you here. Your Wordle connection with your brother and sister is a perfect example of what I mean, just like with Howie, me, and our “boys”. Happy holidays and warmest wishes to you and Tomasz, too! 😊💕

      Like

  10. Jean says:

    I’ve been participating in an international cycling ‘Net forum for past 15 yrs. There are a handful of members who casually like to post their Wordle results. Only a few results / wk. We only chat about cycling only 15% of time. 😀 But if one does bring up a cycling topic, yes there will be a few friendly expert folks. We’re not there to outrace each other, but more to support one another. I like that alot: not always head down just looking narrowly at the pavement, so to speak.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.