Learning to read for pleasure; is technology making this more of a challenge?

It turns out that a few weeks ago was World Book Day (March 7), and in recognition of that day the (online) Guardian had a somewhat disturbing article reporting that children feel they are being discouraged from reading what they’d really like to read. Possibly even more disturbing from my point of view, children are reporting that their parents don’t read books, they spend all their time scrolling their phones.

The article, World Book Day finds children are put off reading books for pleasure, is based on research done in Britain, so perhaps this isn’t true elsewhere, but somehow I doubt it. And to think that the next generation(s) of our countries aren’t finding joy in reading is sad indeed.

The thing is that, for nearly all of us of every generation, our world now revolves around our phones more than paper, both because there’s so much we can – and have to – do online, and because things we used to read on paper, like newspapers, are now read on our phones. So, when children see their parents scrolling their phones, they might be communicating with someone regarding work, texting with a friend, ordering supper to be delivered, looking up when the ball game is on tonight, reading the news, paying their bills, or even reading a book. Or they could be playing a game or placing a bet. But to their kids, they’re not reading a book, even though they’re being pressured to do so. And apparently, the kids who were part of this study also felt strongly that they keep being pushed to read books they don’t want to read instead of being allowed or encouraged to read books they’re interested in.

I know that our world has changed irrevocably with respect to everything being online. We’re not going back to newspapers that are actually printed on paper (sigh). We’re not going to put down our phones. Certainly, I’m hardly ever off my phone when I’m home. It’s my encyclopedia, my source of news every day, my means of communicating with my friends and family, and for reading posts of other bloggers. It’s my go-to for searching out new ideas, doing genealogy digging, finding the weather forecast, looking up curious stats, you name it. Its reach is astounding. But … the fact that we as parents (and grandparents) are observed by our small children as spending more time on our phones than doing things with them, and certainly spending more time on our phones than reading books ourselves, is concerning.  The Guardian article reported that one 11-year-old ‘non-reader’ told researchers, “Adults usually tell you to read, but then they go on their phones. My teachers and my dad do that!” That’s not good. We need to recognize this as a real issue and take steps to ensure that our kids get the message that reading for pleasure is one of life’s greatest treasures. Reading for pleasure – and knowledge – sustains us at every phase of life. Helping your children develop good reading habits is one of the greatest gifts you can give them, even if it means you may need to put down your phone a bit more often and join your kid in picking up a book!

For a number of years, we had a Christmas tradition with our younger son’s family (who had kids first) whereby we gave each other gift cards for our favourite bookstore, then when we were in their city over Christmas we’d all go to the bookstore together on Boxing Day, grandparents, parents, and two small children, split off to our favourite sections of the store, and each choose our books. It was great fun to see what everyone chose, and very rare that any of the four adults chose the same books. Since COVID we’ve stayed home for Christmas, so we do our Boxing Day book selections virtually. This is the picture our son sent us of the books two adults and two teenagers chose with their gift cards this past year; of course, we sent them a picture of our selections in return.

My daughter-in-law and I did in fact both choose Barbara Kingsolver’s Demon Copperhead this year. Excellent choice!

Our older son has the younger family, and they have done a stellar job of instilling their small children with a love of reading. They’ve got the recipe down pat.

  1. Read to your children from a very early age. Make it a ritual.
  2. Choose books you know they will like.
  3. And presto, you’ll have kids who’d rather read just a little more, please, before doing anything else.

Maybe we should all get out our library cards and start new traditions of family library trips as well.

Image sources: Moderately Confused, Adam Fritz, Irene Kim Fritz, Kevin Fritz

This entry was posted in Odds and Ends and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Learning to read for pleasure; is technology making this more of a challenge?

  1. Edward Ortiz says:

    Fascinating topic. I’m an old school book reader. Hardback or paperback books, a highlighter, and a notebook to take notes. My son reads mostly comics books so I’m still working on that but I don’t want to push too hard because I started to be serious about reading later in life. I know he will read other kind of books at some point. Love the pictures, it’s always great to see kids reading books.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Victoria says:

    Cheers to every bit of what you shared, Jane. Sobering: …” the fact that we as parents (and grandparents) are observed by our small children as spending more time on our phones than doing things with them, and certainly spending more time on our phones than reading books ourselves, is concerning” is a stark truth, I think. Kids see…really see.
    Love the ‘book stack’ and the pics of the kids…having fun…and who wouldn’t love a book with a title like “P is for Poops”? 😉

    Liked by 3 people

  3. A disturbing trend, Jane. I think those of us who love and read books need to do what we can to spread the word and instill lovely habits or customs as your family has. It’s disheartening to hear that children are not being allowed to choose their own reading material. One of my greatest joys in childhood was getting a library card then browsing through the shelves to pick out what I wanted. I did the same for my kids, and I’ll make sure my grandkids are familiar with our local library when they’re a bit older.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. heimdalco says:

    What a sad … & true … commentary.

    Our grandson will be 3 in October & his parents are attempting to wean him ‘off screens.’ At first they thought it was helping him learn more quickly & it did, but often to the exclusion of other things. When they realized that he was constantly carrying an old phone that had his movies & cartoons on it, they got very concerned & have been working to remedy that. Progress is slow. I would hate to think he may miss the joy of reading. His granddad & I STILL love actually reading a book & holding it in our hands while reading it, not holding a phone. We have books & bookcases all over the house.

    There’s nothing that can replace the smell of a new or old book, the joy of being swept away to so many places through books & enjoying so many things that spark our OWN imaginations. Reading WORDS in a book increases our vocabulary & so many other marvelous things. I know we can read the same things on screens but somehow it’s just not the same.

    My mom read to me from the time I was old enough to listen & through our lives we shared books. I am forever grateful to her for giving me that GIFT.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jane Fritz says:

      This is really fascinating that your grandson became as addicted as the rest of us to his device so young and so quickly. Fascinating and scary. You and I agree 100% on the importance of reading, and of reading for pleasure throughout our lives. Thank you for your comment and reflections.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. heimdalco says:

    Here’s a poem I wrote about books VS screened devices for reading that was in my first published book (sorry for taking so much room but I thought of my poem & wanted to share)

    Books or iPads

    Lined up perfectly on shelves

    with multicolored covers.

    Broken spines and dusty leaves,

    they speak to sons and lovers.

    They take us all around the world

    in all kinds of moving craft.

    And keep us still and entertained

    on a beach or on a raft

    Nothing can ever take the place

    of the smell of a new book,

    or old and musty volumes

    that line a reading nook.

    They stack just right beneath a ragged

    broken table leg.

    A boy can carry home a stack

    for his girlfriend, Meg.

    Can we ever line a bookcase

    with iPads in rows and stacks?

    How many iPads will it take

    to keep that table jacked?

    How many iPads must Meggy have

    to make carrying a chore?

    And what will they be selling at

    the neighborhood bookstore?

    And what of all the libraries?

    Will they be made museums?

    And if we want to see a book

    is that where we’ll go to see them?

    iPads may be wondrous things,

    glowing and so fast.

    But I prefer to hold a book

    and “feel” it in my grasp.

    Liked by 5 people

  6. Sad but true in the U.S. as well. Thank goodness my 1960s childhood instilled a love of family library trips in Ohio — though my parents were denied the privilege in Alabama due to Jim Crow laws at the time. Getting my library card here in Portugal was an exciting accomplishment. I love that where I live there’s a summer library branch on the beach.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Oh, Natalie, I can’t get past your important reminder of the all-encompassing evilness and cruelty of the discriminatory laws in the South in that not distant enough time. There are no words. The fact that despite that denial your parents recognized the value of libraries and established that routine with you speaks volumes about them.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes, phones are everywhere, and like you, I use mine all the time. Still, in our small town, our library is a busy place, and people, young and old, take out books. And I expect this is true in many places. Still, one day paper books might go away. In the meantime…

    What a fun tradition your family has on Boxing Day.

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Margaret says:

    What an important post Jane and everything you mention I have seen or experienced personally. Except for your delightful family photo’s of course 😊 which remind me that our 6 year old Grandson is read to every night by our daughter and Daddy, yet he isn’t that interested in books yet. It will come though. 🤞🏼 Better too that they read comics which they enjoy rather than not read at all. Let them choose.
    A story about our Granddaughter who is now in her 20’s and is a Primary School Teacher. She’s always been surrounded by books and read to – at our home and at hers – so I was dismayed when during her teen years she wasn’t interested in books, “no time to read Grandma!”. Even at Uni books were read (skimmed) as a means to an end! So imagine me smiling the other week when she asked if I was STILL reading the book she’d loaned me! She’d read several in the time. Making books a part of our lives usually pays off in the end. 👌

    Liked by 5 people

    • Jane Fritz says:

      I think you’ve hit the nail on the head, Margaret. The important part is establishing a reading habit with kids and then letting them take their own lead. Books – including comics – are a lifetime affair!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Eilene Lyon says:

    This is an excellent message, Jane. I’ve heard of the demise of books being proclaimed for decades, but it seems that our handheld electronic devices have finally ushered in a realistic possibility. Until the apocalypse, of course. Then we’ll be raiding the museums for books, left and right! But seriously, I think it sad that children are not permitted to read whatever they want. That was not my experience as a child and I read some horrifying adult books in my early teens – but what a thrill it was, too! Not my cup of tea anymore, same with horror movies – used to devour those. Though I do occasionally read books on my phone, my preference is still the real thing. Libraries and bookstores are some of my favorite places on the planet. I’ve always regretted not having my own library room filled with thousands of books of times. Sigh.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Thanks, Eilene. And thanks for the affirmation of just how much would be lost if we ignore the threat – of our own making – of depriving future generations of the joy we have experienced from a lifetime of books and reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I loved reading as a girl, and I loved reading to both of our sons from the beginning. We read at home, on the floor at bookstores and libraries, in the car, at hotels on trips, essentially everywhere. Our oldest son enjoys reading but our younger son struggled with focus and tracking. Two rounds of vision therapy helped, but it left him with a hindered appreciation for reading.

    I can’t imagine a world without books, though I do a fair amount of reading (blogs!) online. I think your gift card tradition is a fabulous one, Jane.

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Jean says:

    Really love the idea your extended family….initially going to bookstore as 1 big happy gang after Christmas to use gift cards. And now exchanging photos of gift book purchases. If all families could be like yours. Sigh.

    All my siblings are book readers. All of my 7 nieces and nephews are book readers…except for youngest nephew. He has problems enjoying books /reading and is now 14 yrs. I consider this a problem because reading deeply and at length, I actually consider a survival skill in the 21st century. It is the step to developing information literacy.

    Note: My oldest niece is 38 yrs….and has been a published rom-com writer for past 8 yrs. or more. After she left geotechnical engineering career.

    Now, there are now several Ontario school boards that are launching law suit against social media firms for causing at early age, daily multi-hr. long addictions. disrupting learning, etc. The cellphone in hands of young children too long daily prevents them from developing other skills (ie communicative) as well as focused human interaction in person with others. So it’s just not delaying deep,focused reading from start to finish.

    For sure, parents and older siblings can provide a model. However it is the parents that sets the behaviour which child sees as “normal”. That what the teacher asks/expects of reading books, is not strange/difficult.

    I’ve rattled on too long.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Another book lover par excellence! Thanks so much for your reflections, Jean. Yes, I considered even including the enormous Ontario school board suits against the social media giants in the post. Phones/mobile devices have created a very different world, where face to face communication – and reading or doing nearly anything else without distraction – is taking a backseat to texting, gaming, etc. It’s unsettling to say the least.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Jean says:

    By the way, I don’t see the lawsuit is going to solve the problem entirely re children’s addictive use to cellphone since it only covers use at school. Not home or elsewhere. Again this is where parents have such powerful influence.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Jane Fritz says:

      I know, I have my doubts as well. But the parents are also addicted. At my gym, many people are sitting at their machines, looking at their phones in between reps. Sigh. What have we wrought?!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jean says:

        Part of daily living is also parents sitting quietly…and not doing anything in particular. How to sit quietly lost in reflection, thoughts. Or how just to be at the table, even if bored at times but be at peace/still inside ourselves. We do not need to shield/distraction of iphone to pretend to fill space. But then, I’m sort of person that can get lost in my own thoughts for an hr. or so.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. We are all readers in my household. But I admit people look at me funny when I say I don’t know all sorts of social media things, and that I’m not a user of social media

    Liked by 3 people

  14. Well I love reading books way back then but now am just engulfed in my phone. Although I still read e books but not so often, cause the gadget seem not to be more of a reading thing.

    Liked by 3 people

  15. I read books on the Kindle Ap on my phone all the time.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Jane Fritz says:

      As long as if you have kids they know that’s what you’re doing, then I think the concern expressed in the article isn’t relevant. It’s when kids are encouraged to read but they see their parents and teachers using their phones instead of reading (as far as they can tell) that the concern arises. Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. debscarey says:

    This is so true. I converted to digital reading in my later years due to back trouble, when I moved to carrying a tiny handbag. But when my daughter was young and I was filled with angst about her not reading, I had the lightbulb moment that she never saw me reading. Not because I was on my phone (pre-smart phone days) but because I was rushed off my feet and never had time. So I made time, and she started to read too. I also had to curb my reaction to the trash she chose to read, and wait patiently for her to make better choices on her own. Now her home is filled with books and her children both love reading/being read to.

    Liked by 3 people

  17. Pingback: Learning to read for pleasure; is technology making this more of a challenge? – Avedeocom

  18. Paul says:

    As a previous commenter wrote, I do a lot of my reading on my phone; in the gym (guilty), in bed so I don’t disturb my wife by having the light on, or sitting in a waiting room. I agree with your response “if you have kids they know that’s what you’re doing, then I think the concern expressed in the article isn’t relevant.” That is the key.

    Parents who are discouraging children from reading what interests them are being short sighted. Comic books, Manga, abridged classics – anything. Just be happy they’re reading.

    In time, the child’s tastes will change and evolve. And those tastes might not align with those of the parents. I remember trying unsuccessfully to get my children to read The Call of the Wild.

    When I was a boy there was a series of comic books titled Classics Illustrated, that included Tom Sawyer, David Copperfield, A Tale of Two Cities and a score of other classics that the publishers somehow managed to abridge into 50 page comic books. Over the years, I wound up reading the original versions of those classics. A series of comics about World War II kick started my lifelong interest in history. I used to devour Mad Magazine which was a gateway into my appreciation of humor and satire and current events.

    Happily, my children and their spouses have become avid readers and they are encouraging their own children to appreciate books.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.