5 advantages of getting old(er)

Speaking as an old(er) person, there is no denying that there are a few downsides to the aging process. However, there are lots of positives which get overlooked all too often, and  they are worth celebrating. In order to help get the celebrating started, I offer five advantages of growing old(er) that come to mind – in no particular order – based on personal experience.

1.      You are no longer (as) concerned about meeting the expectations of others (aka you don’t care so much what other people think of you). This is extremely liberating.

2.     You’ve done everything you were supposed to do (finish school, make a living, find a mate, maybe have kids, etc.). All that stress is gone. The rest is gravy … and you get to choose what kind of gravy you like!

3.     Your perspective is broader than it used to be. You consider events and problems through the eyes and experiences of quite a swath of history, stretching from stories told by your grandparents and parents … to reflecting on your own experiences spanning decades … to observing the current challenges of your adult children and even grandchildren. You realize that you’re a small part of a very long continuum. I love this revelation.

4.     You no longer need to focus on acquiring more “things”, especially to keep up “with  the Jones”. Quite the contrary, you can start focusing on getting rid of things and just keeping what you like best.  Of course, if you want to keep acquiring things, that’s fine too!😉

runninggrandma15.     Every time you pass a new 5-year or decade milestone, you enter a new age division at races. Being at the beginning of a new (older) age division brings new opportunities. For example, this year I move into the Women’s 70+ division. It so happens that I’m planning on running in our local Fall Classic 10K race this Sunday. I checked last year’s results; last year there were NO women in that age division.  If  that holds this year then I am guaranteed a first place finish regardless of how long I take. How good is that!!

I’ll be back with more advantages to aging. Does anyone have any favourites to add to the list?

 

This entry was posted in Odds and Ends, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 5 advantages of getting old(er)

  1. alesiablogs says:

    As a early retiree, I have had the advantage of finding some of these ideals so accurate and I feel so relieved!!! You nailed it Jane.

    • Jane Fritz says:

      HI Alesia. I’m glad you could relate. The interesting thing is that this is not a phase of life that I think anyone is eager for, and yet, health challenges aside, it is probably the time of most equanimity.

  2. Roy McCarthy says:

    I think you nailed it Jane. No wonder old(er) people are generally more content with life though the end of it isn’t so far away.

    Also I think you can get away with things that you couldn’t when you were younger. You can be a bit un-PC and people put it down to the generation gap (or slowly losing one’s marbles).

    Sadly, our local road races tend not to recognise age groups beyond 60+😦

    • Jane Fritz says:

      In keeping with your PC observation, I think it was Helen Mirren who was quoted earlier this year as saying that she wished her 70-year old self could have given her younger self the following advice, “Feel free to say f*#k off more often”! Re the higher age category for regional races, that took a few years of lobbying. I’m not sure what will happen when some of us pass the 99 mark!

  3. jennypellett says:

    Well, I’m not quite there yet, but not far off and the one thing I’m looking forward to most is a senior person’s railcard! Reduced priced travel anywhere in the UK by train…I’m already planning a grand tour😉

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Hi Jenny. Seniors travel rates are a great addition to the list. Thanks. I think they’re even better in the UK and Europe, and there are so many trains … which take you to wonderful places. NA’s geography and love of the car result in far fewer alluring options in train routes. Still.

  4. DM says:

    I can relate to several. Since I don’t race (yet) I haven’t experienced the 5 year bracket thing but that sure sounds like a wonderful perk…and go you! you are out performing your peers in this area of life, and I’m sure you probably don’t care (but you definitely deserve some extra “kudo’s”) I have been very intention in dealing in addressing issues in my life since my early 20’s (self esteem issues, forgiveness issues, fears, etc.) and while there will always be something to work on, I do feel like I’m enjoying the fruit of all that hard work now as I”m older. I love being the age I am. Love it.

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Thanks, DM. That’s what I’ve learned from your blog and continue to appreciate, your self-awareness and continual attention to getting it right. You’ve got it figured out. All you need to add is a little running!😉

Leave a Reply

