Hugh’s Missing Kitty

Another story for very small children, especially ones who want their kitties to like them.  Slightly older kids can check out Robby Robin stories.

 


Hugh’s Missing Kitty

“Boo hoo,” said Hugh, “what shall I do?

          I can’t find Kitty, it’s really true.

groupkitty

I wanted to play with Kitty today,

          but I can’t figure out how to make her stay.

 

I gave her a hug

hugkitty

and brought food to her chair,

foodkitty

but she’s run away and I don’t know where.”

 

mommakitty

“Remember,” said Momma, “you can’t be too rough.

          Kitty gets scared when you’re not gentle enough.”

 

“But Momma, my hug was very small,

          and I hardly pulled her hair at all.”

daddykitty2

“To get Kitty to play,” said Daddy to Hugh,

          bringing a toy might be better than food.”

 

“But Kitty was hungry, I could tell.

          When I brought her the food she liked the smell.

 

I want to play with Kitty right now!!

          I want her to play, but I don’t know how.”

grandpakitty

“Wait,” said Grandpa, “I know just the thing.

          Let’s go find Kitty and play with this string.

Some kitties don’t like to be carried or touched,

          but they love to chase string ever so much.”

stringkitty

“Grandpa, this string is the best toy ever.

          Now Kitty and I can have fun together!”

Then Kitty and Hugh, they played and they leaped

          ‘til both were ready to fall fast asleep.

sleepingkitty

 

 

THE END

Copyright Jane Fritz, 2016

This entry was posted in Children's stories, Hugh's mysteries and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hugh’s Missing Kitty

  1. jane tims says:

    I love the expression on the cat’s face! Although I am an adult, this could be a story about me and my own much-hugged cat!

    • Jane Fritz says:

      I can’t begin to tell you how gratifying it is to hear that a real artist can recognize what I was attempting to capture in the ‘hug’ picture. Thx. Jane, I hope you are being gentle with your cat!😉

  2. alesiablogs says:

    Animal stories are always a fave of Luke and myself.

Leave a Reply

