That in-between week of looking back and thinking ahead

There’s something special about the week between Christmas and New Year’s. The pressures of Christmas – planning, buying, wrapping, mailing, cooking, cleaning (or at least tidying up), decorating, traveling, and whatever else is put in our path – are all behind us. Now we can turn our attention to the all-so-important task of making our New Year’s resolutions, deciding which amazing feats of self-improvement and self-discipline to focus on in the year ahead. I love doing this.  One of the best things about New Year’s resolutions is that you don’t have to start them for another few days; all you need to do is write them down and feel virtuous about having thought of them at all! (Actually, you don’t ever have to start them, but it’s fun to pretend you will when you write them.)

As well as thinking about the possibilities that lie ahead, this week is the perfect time to reflect on the year that has just passed. So far my husband and I have no major trips in mind for the year coming; it’s enough fun to reminisce about the many great trips we made over the past 12 months. I realize as I go through my list that each and every one of these trips involved family and friends; how good is that! And so, rather than turn on the treadmill and start my New Year’s resolution to get back in shape – since after all it isn’t the New Year yet – I’ve decided to create a picture compilation of our trips of 2013.

Last few days of December, 2012. Mayan Riviera.

2013-01-01 001 029

2013-01-01 001 052

February 2013. Disney World, staying in Animal Kingdom.

2013-02-20 001 080

2013-02-20 001 025

May 2013. Toronto for the Mother’s Day 10K.

TorRace

May 2013. Ottawa for Ottawa Race Weekend.

OttawaOld

July 2013. New Brunswick, tourist capital of Canada.🙂

2013-07-28 001 025

2013-07-28 001 037

August 2013. Portland, Oregon and Mount Saint Helens.

2013-08-29 001 007

2013-08-29 001 022

August 2013. Vancouver Island.

2013-08-29 001 035

2013-08-29 001 073

October 2013. Portugal.

Lisbon4

October 2013. Morocco.

Maroc 268a

October 2013. Spain.

Maroc 522

Happy New Year, one and all. Have fun making up your New Year’s resolutions. You never know, you just might be inspired by one of them. May your year ahead be warmed by spending time with family and friends, whether that keeps you near home or takes you far away.

This entry was posted in Life stories, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to That in-between week of looking back and thinking ahead

  1. steph says:

    Happy New Year Jane! I hope 2014 brings you many blessings, fabulous trips included!🙂

  2. DM says:

    Reading your summary of 2013, I get the sense you and your husband both know how to enjoy the moment and make memories. if you ever get the “itch” to travel to Iowa, come in September when the apples are ready. We will put you up in the B and B suite! DM

    • Jane Fritz says:

      What a nice suggestion, DM. I haven’t been to Iowa since I was a young teen and my family took a 2 week trip in our Falcon station wagon from Long Island, NY to Colorado. It was a lot of driving, but I remember an amazing amount of it, considering that was … many … years ago. If we take a similar trip, I will definitely get in touch. Meanwhile, I’m looking forward to reading more of your excellent posts in 2014.

  3. jennypellett says:

    A great year in pictures Jane. Happy New Year – looking forward to a 2014 full of blogging😉

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Thanks, Jenny. I’m glad to hear that you are full of blogging spirit. I have to get back into the groove myself. Time for another time of self-reflection on my blogging goals. The last time I did that it came down to the fact that I just enjoy it! However, I do find that it gets too addictive by times. On the other hand, I suppose there are worse addictions! Happy New Year!

  4. Heyjude says:

    Nice one Jane – you have been to so many wonderful places this year! I’m hoping to get to Seattle in October, but New Brunswick remains on the ‘list’. Wherever your travels take you I hope you have lots of fun, and that you will post about them so that I, for one, can join you🙂
    Happy New Year!
    Jude xx

  5. jane tims says:

    Hi Jane. Your travels this past year have been amazing! I love the view of the Mayan Riviera. I also think this week is special. When I went to school I used the time to renew my wardrobe (mend and iron). Nowadays, I consider it the best part of Christmas (time to relax after all the preparations). I make resolutions … this year I want to be more of a part of the lives of my grand nieces and nephews. Best of the New Year to you!!! Jane

    • Jane Fritz says:

      That’s a very nice resolution, Jane. Definitely better than mending and ironing clothes! One of mine is to start running again (after 3 months of no physical activity with really lame excuses). Given our low temps and high snow banks, perhaps I should start a virtual running program on our treadmill, fashioned after your good example! Happy New Year to you and yours.

  6. Looking back , that was quite a year! You’ll have a hard time topping it, but it’s worth trying. All the best in the new year!

  7. Roy McCarthy says:

    Thank you for that montage Jane. I travel vicariously – I think I left the Rock once this year🙂 As for resolutions my favourite is to sit at my desk and exclaim ‘Right!’ – which gives the impression that I’m actually about to produce some work.
    Every best wish for 2014 Jane and to following you some more.

  8. Wow – that is am impressive list of places to have visited! I see you even made your way to my home of Vancouver Island – exotic in its own right, for sure. I always love this week between Christmas and New Years for all the reasons you list. Best Wishes for 2014

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Fran, Vancouver Island is exotic in its own way indded. It’s simply magnificent. We were there for a family wedding, held on a beach near Parksville. We did our killer whale watching out of Victoria. You live in paradise! Happy 2014 to you and yours.

  9. alesiablogs says:

    Nice Photo Collage! Happy New Year Jane!!! I was thinking back about my new year’s resolution of last year to lose weight. I did it! I smiled going back and reading this post: http://alesiablogs.wordpress.com/2012/12/27/new-years-resolution/ 35 pounds lost! So glad something good came out of 2013!

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Alesia, it’s impossible for me to put myself in your shoes. You’ve faced such enormous challenges and dealt with them remarkably well, and now you’re being being challenged yet again. Your program this past year to take care of yourself by embracing a healthy lifestyle was a great success. Try to embrace it again this year; it helps us be mentally strong as well as physically strong. I’m rooting for you from the sidelines!

      • alesiablogs says:

        I appreciate you rooting for me. I need that and it is why I like to blog and reach out. I would like others to know I am rooting for them too. I have heard from folks that have been homeless, and abused to being depressed and down right close to death. There is so much more to this life and we must do our best to stay strong. At times though–the help of others and at times prayers–I know have been the only thing that has got me through a situation. A great example was a conversation I had with my elderly aunt about my current circumstances and all the anger I was holding onto. She just said some simple phrases to me about letting it go and you know what–her words were all it took for me to do just that. I am not sure why that was, but it was her encouragement to let it go that brought me to a place where I could do it. Thank God for family that say just the right thing when you need it. Happy New Year Jane,
        your friend and blogging buddy up here in Seattle, Alesis

Leave a Reply

