NaNoWriMo Newbie

We’ve just returned from a great trip in Portugal, Morocco and Spain, and in a perfect world I’d be blogging about our trip, especially our time in Morocco and in the northern Sahara. But that will have to wait until after November.

Maroc 294

I also read an intriguing book written by a Cuban exile while I was away, a book that cries out for a blog post once I get my head around it. But that will have to wait until after November.

cubacar1

What is it about November? Turns out it’s National Novel Writing Month.  I had never heard of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) before I started blogging. Who could have imagined that tens of thousands of people around the world sign up every November, pledging to write 50,000 words in 30 days. Needless to say, the notion is that these 50,000 words will form a first draft of a novel. I suppose they could also form a collection of short stories or even creative non-fiction, but you get the idea. Many people say that they’ve always felt like they have a novel in them. I was never one of those people. But, with no grand plan that’s been simmering for years and no background in fiction writing except for a few stories for my grand children, I’ve taken up the challenge. Why? Because I’m retired and I can. Because I like a challenge. Because I work better when I have a goal and a deadline. Anyway, why not?!

Meanwhile, when not writing my 1667 words per day, I will be spending time reviewing the writing advice I’ve been fortunate enough to glean from some of my favourite bloggers, all of whom are NaNoWriMo veterans. To all of you, thank you for your inspiration and guidance. Of course, I say this on November 1. By November 30 I may be sending curses your way!

 

This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to NaNoWriMo Newbie

  1. Pingback: A Newbie’s Analysis of a NaNoWriMo November | Robby Robin's Journey

  2. A.M.B. says:

    Good luck with NaNo! It sounds like a lot of fun. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your travels (and your novel?) when December comes!

  3. I look forward to hearing how it all works out🙂 And another vote for – glad to see you back in the blogosphere.

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Thanks, Fran. So far, it feels like a slog! The commenters in the blogosphere, “real writers” who are demeaning NaNoWriMo for allowing “recreational writers” to think they can write a novel in a month, are off target. They should realize that this process allows newbies to appreciate just how difficult it is. Those comments remind me of the occasional serious//elite runner who laments the fact that recreational (aka slow) runners are allowed into some of the big marathons and can then claim to be marathoners. Strikes me that in either case the best way to truly appreciate the success of others is to try it yourself and start sweating, literally (running) or figuratively (writing)! Right now I’m sweating figuratively.🙂

  4. Roy McCarthy says:

    Looking forward to your latest travelblogue Jane. Good luck with the writing. I’m inspired to attack my WIP with the same sort of target in mind, which would see me almost at the finishing post for a first draft.

  5. Cool Jane! Have fun with it! 😀

  6. alesiablogs says:

    Glad to have you back! I have missed you. : ) Alesia

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Thanks, Alesia. It’s funny, I’ve missed blogging (and more contact with the community), but it was getting in the way of doing several other things. It’s a bit addictive, don’t you find. At any rate, I’m going to give NaNoWriMo a try; I’ll post about my experience from time to time. Meanwhile, I’ll continue to enjoy your blog. I hope you’re feeling better.

  7. jennypellett says:

    Wishing you the very best of luck, Jane, seriously. I have the utmost respect for people who can sit down and write every day – I wish I could be so disciplined
    Keep us posted😉

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Thanks, Jenny. I have a big advantage in that I don’t have a job to go to everyday. However, writer’s block is another thing altogether. It should be an “interesting” month. Perhaps I will post a weekly status report!🙂

Leave a Reply

