Two races, new plans, and a hiatus

Our two 2013 target races (to date) are now consigned to history.  Two weeks ago – Mother’s Day weekend – we traveled to Toronto for the Sporting Life 10K.  Eight of our family members joined 27,000 others in running down Yonge Street.  At one point from near the back of the pack it looked like Yonge Street was filled with runners all the way to Lake Ontario.  Amazing sight.  With that large crowd, hopefully they raised lots of money for their charity, a camp for Kids with Cancer. 

Cold, but happy, finishers in Toronto

Cold, but happy, finishers in Toronto

OttawaYoung1Then this past weekend we traveled to Ottawa for our third consecutive annual Ottawa Race Weekend.  This event in Canada’s national capital includes every conceivable race over two days, from a 2K race for kids (and older friends) to a full marathon, with 40,000 participants entered in one or more race, including 5 of our family members.  It is a fabulous venue.  I recommend it to anyone.

What lessons did I take away from these experiences:

  1. Getting together with family, using a race event as an instigator, is really special.
  2. Planning a race-motivated family gathering over the Mother’s Day weekend is an excellent strategy; we ended with 6 mothers all together, being celebrated by 14 kids, grandkids and spouses.  Perfect.
  3. Downhill races are a real treat compared to hilly courses – or even flat ones, although flat courses are a treat too.
  4. In Ottawa, the young set did the 10K, while the older set did the half marathon.  Something about having other responsibilities.  I was reminded that 21.1K is a lot longer than 10K.
  5. Races where it’s easy to get to the start line and easy to get back from the finish line (Ottawa, not Toronto) get extra marks in my book. Those where the start line and finish line are near each other and also near hotels are real stars.  When getting to or from the start or finish is a nightmare it makes for a good story afterwards, but the story isn’t worth the aggravation.
  6. Both my brother and my daughter-in-law set personal bests in Ottawa after not having had time to train during the previous two weeks.  Amazing and awesome.  Maybe that was my problem; I should have laid low after Toronto?  No, probably not.

OttawaOldWe didn’t have any future target races identified because we weren’t sure if we would keep this up or not.  But everyone in Ottawa (except me, who represented the status quo) had results that were so encouraging that I think we’re going to have to spend some time looking for one or more new destination runs.  If anyone has any recommendations, please let me know.  We’re looking for a nice setting, with lots of people running (so that we’re not the last ones to finish, which is really lonely).  And we’re looking for races where the weather won’t be too hot.  That’s a critical consideration. 🙂

RobbyMeanwhile, the mention of hiatus in the title of this post relates to Robby Robin’s Journey, not running.  His journey isn’t taking a break, but his (and my) blog will be taking a breather for a few months while I try to make some headway with other writing projects.  So for those of you who are kind enough to read my posts, thank you so much for being there.  Have a wonderful summer!

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Two races, new plans, and a hiatus

  1. Lisa says:

    Have a wonderful zen summer and enjoy the the writing projects. You are such an inspiration and I hope someday my family gets to enjoy running together, right now they are all over the place with some in high school and some in university.

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Thanks a lot, Lisa. As a family, we’ve come to running very late; you never know what passion (or persuavise force in lieu of passion) might work for your family down the road. I like the vision of a zen summer. The vision doesn’t include non-stop rain, but I guess that’s where the zen comes in!

  2. A.M.B. says:

    I hope you’re having a wonderful summer! Good luck with your writing projects!

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Thanks so much, AMB, same to you. I don’t think you’ll be comparing me to Jane Austen, despite my advantage of having the same first name! However, I am having fun.🙂

  3. Steph says:

    I have no race suggestions for you (unless the family is coming to the American West), but I’m sure you’ll be able to find something that suits everyone. Good luck with your other writing endeavors and have a great summer! The blog world will miss you!

    • Jane Fritz says:

      We just might show up at a western venue. There are some pretty spectacular places out there offering running opportunities. Maybe the Big Sur Half?! Thanks for being out there in the blogosphere, Steph. I’ll be reading from the sidelines.

      • Steph says:

        Well in that case, I would definitely suggest Big Sur! D and I are doing it this year and are very excited about it. Should be a beautiful course and a great excuse to vacation in Monterrey Bay.

  4. Jody says:

    The Bluenose race weekend is a wonderful time in Halifax. Nicholas completed the youth run again this year with over 4000 other kids under 16-years-old (apparently it is the largest youth run in Canada). There is also a 5k a 10k a half marathon and a full marathon. Maybe we can convince the Fritz-Wells clan to come try it out some year. And no worries about it being too hot!!

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Now there’s an interesting suggestion. We’ll have to give that idea some serious thought. Thanks, Jody. And good for Nicholas. So he already has two medals to his credit?! Bravo.

  5. jennypellett says:

    Good luck Jane, have a good summer and happy writing…

  6. Heyjude says:

    Your fitness makes me feel very guilty Jane! I shall miss your posts, but wish you a happy and successful summer – Robby Robin about to achieve fame perhaps?

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Guilt is a waste of time, Jude, although that is easier for me to say than act on, I must admit! We’ll see what transpires from the pen (aka keyboard). Happy summer to you!

  7. I’ll be looking forward to your return later on. In the meantime I hope lots of success and happiness comes your way :>)

  8. DM says:

    Enjoyed reading your updates, and will look forward to hearing from you again in a few months.DM

  9. Roy McCarthy says:

    That’s great Jane, getting together like that and doing something with a purpose. And it’s sending the right signals to the younger set that sport and exercise can be a lifestyle for as long as one wishes.
    ‘Other writing projects’ – a book somewhere in there I hope! Good luck with them.

  10. alesiablogs says:

    Have fun enjoying your summer. You are starting out strong!!!! I have 10 lbs so far with my exercise program. Some stress in my life helped too. lol

    Looking forward to talking with you again by September or so. I think that is when I will get back to writing again. I may put an old post up here and there from my files!

    God Bless, Alesia

Leave a Reply

