6 worthy sayings for the workplace

I’ve been happily retired for nearly 3 years now, but recently I found myself in my former workplace for meetings.  (I know, what’s that all about?!)  While attending a meeting today I was reminded of a piece of paper I kept on the wall next to my desk for most of the years I was in management.  There are other sayings out there that provide insights into effective management – and advice for surviving and succeeding in the workplace, but these 6 adages continued to keep me grounded for many years.  I thought I’d share them:

1.  If you tell the truth, you don’t have to remember anything.  (Mark Twain)

2.  Good judgment comes from bad experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment. (Will Rogers)

3.  Generally speaking, you aren’t learning much when your lips are moving. (Anonymous)

4.  Never miss a good chance to shut up. (Will Rogers)

5.  No matter what happens, somebody will find a way to take it too seriously.  (Dave Barry)

6.  You should not confuse your career with your life.  (Dave Barry)

Saying #2 reminds us that we can – and should – learn from our mistakes.  #3 and #4 are quite similar, I know, but they have a somewhat different perspective.  Anything that reminds us of the importance of listening is worthwhile.  It’s not just about letting others have their say to be polite, it’s to learn where others are coming from and what they have to contribute.

I have to admit that I haven’t always followed #4 when I should.  And I have to admit that #6 was not on my list until late in the day.  But I wish it had been there sooner; it’s important not to lose sight of this truism.  And, speaking of #6 and career versus life, these sayings undoubtedly are just as relevant at home as at work!  Maybe even more so. 🙂

This entry was posted in Entrepreneurship & Business and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 6 worthy sayings for the workplace

  1. I love these quotes! Numbers 1 and 6 are my favorites.
    “Never miss a good chance to shut up” is pretty great.

  2. DM says:

    Those are all great. I have two favorites..#1 and #6, both I have by the grace of God been living out for years. Funny how several of them are interrelated…it was a watershed moment in my life. when I realized (.#2..I had been making my work my life,) that #6 became a mantra in my life. I know I’m not expressing myself very clearly..but hopefully you understand what I’m trying to say. (I just got up from an afternoon nap) 😉

  3. Kristina Taylor says:

    I know I’ve seen these before (but can always appreciate a reminder), and I’m thinking it just might have been from time spent sitting in your office when you were my advisor for my honours thesis!

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Hi Kristina. That’s too funny. If we assume that’s true, then putting motivational reminders on your wall is not only good for you, it might be good for others who drop by! I hope all’s well.

  4. jennypellett says:

    I think I should paste number six onto my husband’s dashboard!

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Oh no, one of those, eh?! I used to be one of those myself. It’s some kind of disease. The good news is that you can be cured pretty quickly, given the right medicine. Pasting it on the dashboard might help. 🙂

  5. Bob says:

    These are great! #1 I remember something similar from a book on Yoga which said ‘the liar has to have a terrific memory to remember what he said and to whom, whereas, the honest man can relax in peace’ (or some such quote). I wish that I had had these on my wall at work.

    • Jane Fritz says:

      Hi Bob. #1 is also my favourite. It does have that yoga spirit to it, doesn’t it? Sometime I think that yoga is the answer to the universe, instead of 42! That saying is another way of reminding ourselves of Sir Walter Scott’s, “What a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive.” Hope all is well with you as the ice recedes from the lake.

Leave a Reply

