Counting: a reminder of the power of acts of kindness

Foreword from Robby aka Jane:

I don’t reblog someone else’s blog post very often. It seems kind of like a cop-out. However, I think this post by Stephen Edwards, entitled “Counting”, is worth sharing. Steve occasionally provides life stories of his own (I think!) to motivate readers to believe in themselves; his stories are far more tantalizing than those from my “more or less obey the rules” middle-class existence and always make me sit up and take notice. There is no doubt that at times in his life, according to his blog, he has done things from which he was well advised to cease and desist, and he has done so. The first blog post I ever read of his was about running across America. I spent a fair amount of time trying to decide if it was fact or fiction; it was fact. When he writes his autobiography, it will be a captivating read. I encourage you to read this most recent story from Steve, who is now a happily married grandfather who consults, writes, and runs workshops to help people believe in themselves.
Once you’ve read it, I’d be interested to know if you identified more with the wild kid or with the cop. For those of us who have never had a wild side to recover from, I think the message is at least as powerful, if not more so: going the extra mile – or simply showing humanity and trust to others – doesn’t cost anything and may make a profound difference to the recipient. It also makes you feel better about yourself. Worth remembering. Thanks, Steve.

BTW, he has a follow-up post called Counting and then some.

LifeRevelation

http://www.colourbox.com/image/two-ripe-red-apples-and-half-of-apple-image-3946870

My wife, Susie has a saying that I have always found interesting. I’m not exactly sure when she started using it, but I have liked it since the first time I heard it. This is it:

You can count the seeds in an apple, but can’t count the apples in a seed.

I’ve been thinking about this little quote since the first time I heard it and it reminds me of a story.

Most of you who read this blog are aware I have background that includes many unfavorable exposures to the law and those who are charged with enforcing it. It wasn’t that I thought police were pigs, as was the common verbiage back in my hippie days. I was simply breaking the law and I wasn’t interested in getting caught. This put the police and I on different sides of the same issue. Throughout the years I got to…

View original post 1,056 more words

This entry was posted in Odds and Ends and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Counting: a reminder of the power of acts of kindness

  1. Roy McCarthy says:

    Great reblog Jane and, like Alesia, I’m looking out for this guy.

  2. You are much too kind to me…the stories are all True, as best as I remember them…I write them because they had a profound impact on my life and I think it is important for us to realize that it is the little things in life that add up to either quality or disgust…I’ve done enough disgust…now I’m all about the quality..

    Thank you so much for reblogging this post…I am grateful.

    Much love and many blessings to you and yours.

    Be encouraged!

  3. alesiablogs says:

    I am now a follower of this guy! Thank you for reblogging. Alesia

    • Jane Fritz says:

      My pleasure. He does more and more reblogs, I think because he’s busy writing a book, but when he writes his own posts they are usually zingers. His reblogs are often good, but I keep waiting for his own. Take care, Alesia.

Leave a Reply

