A grandmother’s playlist

I have to admit that it took a long time for me to become a convert to running with an iPod.  My sons kept saying that they couldn’t imagine running without music, how could I stand it?  I kept explaining that I liked that time to be able to think.  They were sure that if I just tried it I would change my mind.  Finally, one son gave me an iPod for Christmas, along with de rigueur running earphones.  I loved the iPod and immediately started using it with a new Bose station for all my music at home.  Great combination.  But I had my running routine and didn’t even think about integrating the iPod into my routine.  Even to try it. It just wasn’t on my radar screen.

Then my other son came for a vist and said, “Mom, I can’t believe you still aren’t running with music.  You’ve got to at least give it a try.”  It was summer at the time, and I’m not a great hot weather runner.  And I was training for my first marathon, which wasn’t going so well.  So I tried running with my iPod, what the heck.  Wow!  All those good feelings that go along with listening to my favourite old songs were suddenly out there on the trail with me.  OK, I became a convert.  I will write about my challenges in training past the half marathon mark in future posts, but suffice it to say that the music could put a smile on my face even as the miles mounted.  Thank you, Kevin and Adam.

Sample playlist of this 66 year-old retired grandmother:

– We Built This City – Starship

– I’m On My Way – The Proclaimers

– Did You Ever Have To Make Up Your Mind – The Lovin’ Spoonfuls

– Old Time Rock And Roll – Bob Seger and The Silver Bullet

– Madeleine – Jacques Brel

– Walk of Life – Dire Straits

– At The Hop – Danny and The Juniors

– UpTown Girl – Billy Joel

– YMCA – Village People

– La Bamba – Trini Lopez

– Take It Easy – Eagles

– The First Cut Is The Deepest – Cat Stevens

– New York, New York – Frank Sinatra (in honour of my marathon destination)

– The Great Pretender – The Platters

– Ain’t No Cure For Love – Leonard Cohen

– So Long, Marianne – Leonard Cohen

– Didn’t We Almost Have It All – Whitney Houston

– Greatest Love Of All – Whitney Houston

– I Dreamed A Dream – Les Miz

– Any Dream Will Do – Joseph and the Technicolor Dreamcoat

And, best of all, it turns out that I can be entertained by my music and still think at the same time!  Do any of you out there have ANY of these tunes on your Playlist? Even one??!

`

This entry was posted in Just wondering, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A grandmother’s playlist

  1. Melanie says:

    Jane, I have Old time Rock N’ Roll!!!

Leave a Reply

